Butternut Squash and Shallot Soup

Ahhh the leaves are changing, the temperature is dropping, and snow is on its way…. not if you live in Florida! Although it may not feel like fall, this recipe is bound to make you want an open fire, or at least a pumpkin spice candle.

Around 8 cup of cubed butternut squash

2 tablespoons of olive oil, or more, just cover em all up before you put them in the oven.

1/2 teaspoon of salt although I definitely used more than that too

8 shallots – peeled and halved

bout an inch of fresh ginger

chicken broth to the consistency you want, buy 2 containers just in case (it also gives you an excuse to make more later on)

freshly ground black pepper to taste

any other spices you want to throw in there

5 thoughts on “Butternut Squash and Shallot Soup

  1. :-p This looks super delicious. I have actually made butternut squash soup before but never really made it this way and it honestly looks much simpler with yours than I remember it being for me. I also didn’t think to strain it when I did it, which makes sense now because I remember eating the little fibery parts. I wish I had more time and remembered to buy the ingredients to make this. Looks great and seems perfect for fall weather…when it gets here! haha!

    Like

  2. I need this in my life! That looks so good! I love butternut squash! I’ve made recipes with that and spaghetti squash before and I need to start doing that again but it really is so yummy! I definitely am going to have to try this!

    Like

  3. I’ve never had butternut squash in my life but this video makes it look pretty delicious, I’m trying to expand my pallet because I don’t eat a lot of diverse foods, but this looks pretty dang good.

    Like

  4. Ok…you again have made something I don’t like sound more than tolerable. My mom used to make mashed butternut squash. A horrible food compared to mashed potatoes. So impressed with your filming skills and cooking skills.

    Like

Leave a comment